KOTA KINABALU: Sabah's inter-district travel ban will be lifted on Monday (May 17) as announced earlier, says the state government.

The minister in charge of Covid-19 matters in Sabah, Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun, said this when announcing the latest number of new Covid-19 cases for Sabah on May 15, which was 60.

No new deaths or clusters were recorded.

This means that Sabah’s travel restrictions will be loosened from Monday (May 17), with the system where districts are grouped into six zones reimplemented:

> Zone 1 – Kota Kinabalu, Kota Belud, Ranau, Tuaran, Penampang, Putatan and Papar

> Zone 2 – Beaufort, Kuala Penyu and Sipitang

> Zone 3 – Kudat, Kota Marudu and Pitas

> Zone 4 – Sandakan, Beluran, Kinabatangan and Tongod

> Zone 5 – Tawau, Semporna, Lahad Datu, Kunak and Kalabakan

> Zone 6 – Keningau, Tambunan and Tenom

Those living in areas within the zones can travel within the districts inside.

Among the standard operating procedure that the people in Sabah need to be aware of following the Prime Minister’s announcement of MCO 3.0 until June 7 is the attendance allowed in non-Muslim houses of worship.

Only one-third of the capacity with physical distancing is permitted.

Social gatherings such as weddings, parties, engagements, seminars and meetings are still prohibited, though special permits can be applied from the state disaster management committee for consideration.

Schools as well as higher learning and private learning institutions are not allowed to operate, with classes encouraged to be held online.

The rest of the SOP can be viewed at the Sabah National Security Council or Information Department page on Facebook, among other platforms.

Source: The Star
  • Date Sun, 16 May 2021
  • Outbreak Covid-19
  • Category Sabah
  • View 1741