KOTA KINABALU: Seven villages in Semporna and Kunak will be placed under the Enhanced Movement Control Order where all residents cannot leave their homes and all economic sectors must stop, said Defence Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaacob today.

The six Semporna areas are Kg Bangau-Bangau, Kg Panji, Kg Air, Kg Selamat, Kg Simunul and Kg Pinggir Bakau while in Kunak, the area affected is Kg Pangkalan.

A total of 35,643 residents will be affected by the order which will take effect between Oct 11 and 24, said Ismail Sabri.

Meanwhile, the current movement restrictions in the other areas in Kunak and Semporna, as well as in Lahad Datu and Tawau, which will end Oct 12, have been extended until 26, said Ismail Sabri.

The movement restrictions in Tawau Prison and Taman Ehsan Prisons staff quarters, set to expire today, have also been extended until Oct 25.

Ismail Sabri said these decisions were made because new cases are still being recorded in those areas.

Source: Daily Express
  • Date Fri, 9 Oct 2020
  • Outbreak Covid-19
  • Category Sabah
  • View 3487